Baring It All On The Unbroken Path

It is a rather daunting thing to prepare for the show I am to perform this Saturday night. Not only do I need to be able to deliver a 1700 word poem, and sing 7 of my original songs, I will also be largely improvising as I attempt to express the world from my persepective. On top of all that, I’ll also be doing part of the show in the nude.

halloween-davidI’m not quite sure whether the nudity will attract more people to come or if it will deter them from coming at all. I think that the people the show will appeal to are evolved enough to move beyond the giggles and see the message behind the performance. Nevertheless, when I first arrived at The Flow Factory, I had a vision of my performing The Unbroken Path, and the nudity became integral. I just hope that its not too cold because that could be embarassing.

The Unbroken Path is about the journey that we are all on. Each of us has some sort of paradigm that we follow, whether it be a religious thing like the Romans Road or the Four Noble Truths, a self improvement guide like the Twelve Steps or the Eight Habits of Highly Effective People, a scientific understanding like Maslow’s Hierarchy of Human Needs or Hawkins’ Stages of Consciousness, or just a basic understanding of mythology like Joseph Campbell’s Hero’s Journey. Beyond all of the language used to describe our vantage points, we are all on an unbroken path of realizing who we really are.

To develop the script for The Unbroken Path, I weaved together a myriad of these paradigms, connecting the common themes and finding the flow through all of them. Then I interpreted that outline into a poem. Since it turned out to be longer than the time usually alloted at an open mike night, I weaved in the songs I’ve written to describe the various stages of the human journey, and it became a show.

I am also hoping that the performance will lend some credence to The Flow Factory as a legitimate venue and inspire other area musicians and performing artists to utilize the space for their own shows. I believe that art is playing a key role in the shift our society is experiencing, and we hope to use that creative energy to develop channels for the cultivation of business, citizenry, and charity as well. So the financial revenue generated from The Unbroken Path through the recommended $10 flownation will be distributed to support me as an Artist, The Flow Factory as a Business, the Common Wealth Time Bank as the Citizenry, and the Sanctuary of Sarasota as a Charity.

I have written much about this whole ABC (squared) Economics concept, and I have experimented with its application. I feel that with the right amount of energy, it has the potential to be highly successful. I’m not sure if the show will reap the profits necessary to produce a tangible outcome, but if nothing else, I hope that it produces enough to help me continue on down this unbroken path.

The premiere of The Unbroken Path will be at 8pm on Saturday, December 21 at The Flow Factory, 2035 Cornell Street. For more information, send an email to inkensoul@gmail.com.

 

 

Leave a Reply

