Working For Money

I worked for money yesterday. It was the first time in quite awhile. Since the cat that came to live with me doesn’t look like he’s going anywhere anytime soon, I decided to get him spayed and neutered, and though there are some discounted rates out there, nobody’s doing it for time dollars just yet.

before

Before

So I put out the call to my Facebook friends to see if anyone had any work I could do for money. Mic had a fence that needed to be cleaned, and she and Kirsten said they’d be glad to pay me $150 to do it. The fence was one of those last-forever-white-PVC deals, and I washed it clean with one bucket of dish soap ‘n water and a sponge.

sprayingLike most tasks with a visible goal and instant reward, I found it quite meditative. With I-dunno-how-many length of fence, I would play with the patterns, directions, and how far one sponge-full would go. And of course, there’s something just immensely satisfying about seeing something wash away clean.

After

After

It’s probably not something I would ever want to make a career of, but I don’t really want to make a career out of any one activity anyway. However, I do believe I’d do it for time dollars from time to time, especially if the weather is as beautiful as it was yesterday. Best of all, I hadn’t seen Mic in a long time so it was good to catch up with her beyond Facebook.

You´re gonna do what to my what?

You´re gonna do what to my what?

I tried not to make it too momentous an occasion when Kirsten handed me the wad of dead presidents that gave their all so that Shadow the cat could be guarded against heart worm, rabies, and knocking up another cat. Nevertheless, it was kind of a big deal for me. And yet, with another breath it was over.

I´m just glad the cat´s gonna be healthy.

 

Leave a Reply

