Hoping to Stick Around for Awhile

I went to a funeral yesterday at the Sarasota National Cemetery for a friend of the family that finally succumbed to her fight with cancer. I’ve never been really big on funerals, especially Baptist ones where they’re inclined to talk about how I need to be “saved.” However, in spite of the altar call, it was oddly warming to celebrate a life that touched so many.

As I stood there listening to what family and friends had to say about Sharon Monteau, I imagined for a moment what would be said at my funeral. Considering what people say about me now, I imagine I’d have some people with some good things to say. Nevertheless, I think I’ll just continue accepting whatever praises or scorn come with life as I keep moving through it and enjoying the process of living.

Considering how well my guardian angels have guarded me against my own life-on-the-edge folly, I’m pretty sure that there’s a lot that I’ve still got left to do. Perhaps that’s why I have so many unfinished projects, like it’s some subconscious hope that the Grim Reaper will continue to let me play for awhile, even if it’s just for the entertainment value for those who watch on from the celestial realms. Yet I think that my life provides its own merit, and I intend to live each day as if it were my last.

Each day always brings a hearty helping of beautiful banality and the richness of unexpected delights. Although I’m not always as successful in my endeavors as I’d like to be, as if either I’m trying to catch up with the world or the world is trying to catch up with me, I still manage to usually go to be fulfilled and wake up with plenty of purpose. So, if it’s up to me, I think I’ll keep sticking around awhile to ensure that the memories I create for myself and others bring more smiles than frowns, and that at the end of it all, the world will be a better place for my having been here.

Leave a Reply

