The Return of the Prodigal Son

When I was younger and even more of a wanderer than I am now, my mom would often welcome me home by jokingly exclaiming, “The prodigal son returns!” Since my leaving the Fundamentalist Evangelical Church (FEC) and testing the waters of many of the practices they referred to as sinful, the biblical story of the prodigal son has continued to play a somewhat pivotal role in my life. And due to my proclivity to continue seeking out and engaging in practices that I know do not serve my higher good and actually decrease my energy and ability to perform at a functional level, the story continues to pop into my mind from time to time.

When I was hitchhiking home from LA several years ago, I woke up in an empty Texas fireworks stand to find a copy of the New Testament with the story of the Prodigal Son on the back cover. When I got back home, I went to see a children’s pageant at my old church with the story as the theme. Even today, at a time when I’ve become more acutely aware of my subconscious, within a moment of the story crossing my mind, my daily reading in my Course in Miracles app spoke again of the return.

This is not to say that I am returning to FEC around, but I do find myself returning to a relationship with my Father/Mother/Source where I feel more fully embraced and as if I actually belong.

Leave a Reply

