Beginning at the Beginning

When I first decided to write what has since become known at How to Survive an Estralarian Mind Meld, I knew that it would be unlike anything I had written before. Even beyond the genesis of the idea and the seemingly egotistical naming of the book, there was a compulsion to compile all of the philosophical information I had accumulated since setting out to write The Rucksack Letters and use it as my guide. Drawing from resources as varied as Christianity, Buddhism, Paganism, Joseph Campbell, and Stephen Covey, to name just a few, I set out to create an outline by which I would write. Never did I imagine what an endeavor it would turn out to be.

Since then, the concept has grown into an idea that has completely surpassed the book and become somewhat of a way of life for me. I have used the information to write a business plan that I believe will one day revolutionize the way we participate in commerce, distribution, philanthropy, and social media for which I am seeking funding now. I have also seen the possibilities of doing a seminar based upon the principles. And obviously, I have more books to write. Yet first, I must get the ideas down on paper so that I may come to understand them more fluidly myself as well as share them with other people.

Several years ago, I gave myself a mission to write the world. Knowing that I indeed had something to offer the world and realizing that one of my greatest strengths was my ability to form words into cohesive thought, I set out to communicate my heart’s intent. Since then, I have continued to wrestle with the role I have given myself, often going days, weeks, or months without participating in the purpose I had designed. However, I now realize that the time I spent avoiding what I felt I needed to do was actually in preparation for it.

It is my hope that I will be resolute with my endeavor and work my way through this maze of ideas and principles that I have compiled. Although the outline I am using can be seen as the backbone of my book, through the blog surrounding it I will be more able to expand on the ideas in order to offer you, dear reader, a deeper look into your own life. Though the idea for my book was first brought to the forefront as a “fictional approach to marketing,” marketing and business is only a fraction of what it is about. This is about life and how to find balance in it.


Steve

Steve McAllister describes himself as a Renaissance Man. An author, filmmaker, songwriter, and perpetual artistic experimenter, he has recently re-released his second book The Rucksack Letters into paperback to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the journey. A journey of ink and soul, the book recounts his year and a half trek through 26 states, exploring the underbelly of America in order to better know himself. A pivotal first step for a generation in search of a new direction, The Rucksack Letters is available now.

Leave a Reply

