What I'm Doing These Days…

Ten years ago, when I left to travel the country in order to better understand this new phenomenon called Attention Deficit Disorder, comparing and contrasting it to our societal disorders, I was also searching for the answers that were being provided outside of the mainstream conversation. This journey culminated in my book The Rucksack Letters, released into paperback last month. This month, I released How to Survive an Estralarian Mind Meld, a comical foray into philosophical science fiction about aliens who try to help me change the world for the better simply by shifting our perception of it. Next month, I will be releasing my first novel Descent, and in August, to celebrate my 40th birthday, I will be releasing Get Your Groove On: How to Be a Modern Hippie, a collection of inspirational posts from Modern Hippie Mag called “Your Daily Groove.”

In addition to the release of my books into paperback, I have also been producing more videos. The more recent ones are about the homeless situation in Sarasota, a new local currency program, an arts collective, an entrepreneurial incubator, Love is the New Currency, and a few of the local, original music acts emerging from the movement here. Following a video I did a few months ago asking if Sarasota was on the verge of a Renaissance or a Dark Age to which I got a resounding answer of “Renaissance,” I started calling myself a Renaissance Man, a term I have been quietly using for  years but is just not coming into full comprehension.

You see, I believe that based upon our historical data and the economic and political tumult we are going through, we are either on the verge of a Renaissance or a Dark Age. Considering that I am continuously seeing projects like Metamorphosis and Transition popping up around me, I can only assume that a Renaissance is inevitable as long as we continue to move toward it. I feel that the videos I am producing, the books I am releasing, and the current stream of blogs I have been writing can be used in helping my community to do that.

As much as possible, I’m simply trying to capture and share the conversation I hear going on around me while also participating in it based on what I have learned from my various journeys and research. That is how I came to produce such videos as Is Consumerism really the answer to the American Dream?, Is a Better System than Capitalism Possible?, and Creating Community Everywhere. In order to offer a better vision of how I believe my particular skill set fits into this new Renaissance, I’ve also recently released a series of 23 short videos about who I am and what I am trying to do.

I hope that we, as a community, can realize the creative possibilities in one another and create a sustainable future by recognizing the abundance of the present.

Steve

Steve McAllister describes himself as a Renaissance Man. An author, filmmaker, songwriter, and perpetual artistic experimenter, he has recently re-released his second book The Rucksack Letters into paperback to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the journey. A journey of ink and soul, the book recounts his year and a half trek through 26 states, exploring the underbelly of America in order to better know himself. A pivotal first step for a generation in search of a new direction, The Rucksack Letters is available now.

Leave a Reply

