The Challenge of a New Perspective

“We are designed for challenge . . . we are designed to go out and make life happen for us. So . . . we slightly die and wither away inside when we don’t have that challenge. So I think it’s actually very important that people take responsibility for their own lives, not just coasting along, but say ‘These are the things that excite me, these are the things that make me feel alive. I will go and do them. I will go and learn them. I will go and make more of them.’ It makes them more of a person, and of course it makes . . . for a better world if people are finding their own way.”

~ Igor Ledochowski

The challenge I set out to face ten years ago was to come to a different understanding of the world than what I saw through the Capitalist/Consumerist/Judeo-Christian heritage that had guided my perception for so much of my life. I had already explored enough facets of life to understand that there was more than that what my rather possessive and obsessive culture would allow as standard operating procedures. But it is a very pervasive culture with some deeply trenched argumentative beliefs. Sometimes, it takes a really radical move just to see things from a different perspective.

I considered the Declaration our forefathers had made some two hundred and twenty-five years ago. I remembered learning of how many of them died violently to establish the freedoms we so take for granted today. If they saw what America would become, would they have been so willing to allow their blood to be spilt?

It seems like sometimes we forget, I know I do, just how much of a melting pot America is. There is a whole other side to America than what I see through the media. Other lifestyles, currency, desires, and methods of living. If for no other reason, I am leaving to examine our freedom. Or more accurately, to find my own.

– A Passage from The Ruckack Letters

Steve

Steve McAllister describes himself as a Renaissance Man. An author, filmmaker, songwriter, and perpetual artistic experimenter, he has recently re-released his second book The Rucksack Letters into paperback to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the journey. A journey of ink and soul, the book recounts his year and a half trek through 26 states, exploring the underbelly of America in order to better know himself. A pivotal first step for a generation in search of a new direction, The Rucksack Letters is available now.

Leave a Reply

