Religious Practice is Still Practice

I don’t decry anyone who tells me of a religious experience they had in church, for I, too, have felt the Spirit move while standing between the pews. But I have also seen the peace of Christ in the eyes of a Buddhist monk. I have seen the compassion of Christ in the actions of a pagan. I have seen God working in ways that many Christians never will. Though you may build Him a house, God will not abide there any more than He will abide in the wilderness, the desert, or the shopping mall. Even Jesus said that the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.
If you want to practice Christianity, great. Good for you. If it draws you closer to God, I think it’s wonderful. But please realize that it is a practice. Practice involves making mistakes. Learning involves correcting them. Insanity involves repeating them and expecting different results. Constantine. The Dark Ages. The Spanish Inquisition. The Salem Witch Trials. The Trinity Broadcasting Network. This is what happens when you take your beliefs too seriously.
Too often, this religion breeds fear and feeds it with hope. But in the Kingdom of God, there is no fear to begin with. Such ideas would never cross His mind.
I, for one, refuse to fear God. I refuse to acknowledge any idea that has the Entity that has brought me into this world and proven to provide for me daily as playing a villainous role where He is out to get me. I can’t believe that the God I’ve had faith in, who has led me into the lives of some of the most amazing, yet often misguided, people, would punish them eternally for their very existence. The rule of ignorance not being an excuse is a man-made law. God would never have such a law because He knows that there are a lot of dumb-ass people on this planet who just aren’t ever gonna get it.
The story of Adam and Eve is a fable. It is a metaphor for the human condition and how we have separated ourselves from Spirit by our own judgmental attitudes. To hold it as a literal interpretation opens a large can of worms on the use of incest as a means of global population. To hold it as a literal interpretation means that God lost control over his creation after only seven days. I have far too great a faith in the God who has provided for me throughout my life to believe that His plan consists of the majority of Earth’s population to spend eternity in torment for merely being the humans He created them to be. I don’t think that God works under the proposition that two wrongs really do make a right.

This is an excerpt of The Rucksack Letters by Steve McAllister. Buy your copy of the eBook on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

