Finding Independence

Yesterday was Independence Day, and I spent it alone on the roof of my house as neighbors shot bottle rockets and Roman candles in every direction I looked. And I sat up there and watched, wondering if any of us truly considered the day a celebration of our independence or just an excuse to raise the fire marshal’s blood pressure.
I considered the Declaration our forefathers had made some two hundred and twenty-five years ago. I remembered learning of how many of them died violently to establish the freedoms we so take for granted today. If they saw what America would become, would they have been so willing to allow their blood to be spilt?
It seems like sometimes we forget, I know I do, just how much of a melting pot America is. There is a whole other side to America than what I see through the media. Other lifestyles, currency, desires, and methods of living. If for no other reason, I am leaving to examine our freedom. Or more accurately, to find my own.

This is an excerpt of The Rucksack Letters by Steve McAllister. Buy your copy of the eBook on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

