Join me on the Journey

If you ever took a Psychology class, you may remember that Maslow’s hierarchy of basic human needs defines physiological needs as the most basic, followed by safety needs, belongingness and love needs, esteem needs, and finally, the need for self actualization. If you haven’t heard of this before, don’t feel bad. I have a degree in Psychology and even I had to look it up.
Well, I’ve been living in the modern American/Judeo-Christian/Capitalist/Consumerist society for thirty years now. For the most part, my safety and health have always been provided for, thanks to wonderful parents who regard me with ample faith and limitless patience. And while I’ve often felt love, I have found no belonging, my life subject to that of a renegade and a dreamer. Without belonging, esteem has never been fully reached and self-actualization is a distant fantasy.
I will continue to write of my journeys for as long as words can describe them. I make no promises that my language will always be sweet. I can assure you that there will be times it will be as hard for you to read my tales as it will be for me to live them. If what I write offends you, know beforehand that it is not my intent. If you disagree with me, I only ask that you examine why. If I let you down, get in line with all the others I’ve disappointed. If I challenge you, I hope that you will meet it.
This is my request to you as I make my journey: that you may make it with me. It is my hope to show you in my life when God blesses me, lessons I learn, and joys that fill my moments. And it is my prayer that you will do the same. If we meet along the road and you find a way that I can help, don’t hesitate to ask. If you are a revolutionary, I want to understand your revolution. If you are a fisherman, teach me to fish. And if you serve a God, treat me as He would have you treat me, so that I may see Him in you. I’m not asking for money. I’m not asking for a handout. I’m not asking for you to save me. I’m asking you to strive to live up to your potential as I strive to live up to mine.

This is an excerpt of The Rucksack Letters by Steve McAllister. Buy your copy of the eBook on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

