The Three Stages of the Phoenix

The phoenix, the mythological bird that burns itself up every evening to rise from its ashes in the morn, stands as the penultimate symbol of our becoming a new creature through our rites of passage and growing into a new day. The rebirth consists of three stages: the burning up of what we once were, the dying to ourselves or separation from our old way of being; the rising, the resurrection of becoming a new creature; and the in between of being as of ash not what we once were but not yet what we are capable of being. I define the middle stage last because it is where I see my society and where I see myself.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s