Life in the Lighthouse

22 October 2009 – First Day in the Lighthouse

Jasmine and I have managed to sell off quite a bit of our stuff. It has been a bit of a challenge for her to let go of some of the material attachments. One of the most difficult seems to be the understanding that our stuff is no longer worth what we paid for it. She has been fastidious about keeping all of the receipts for our big ticket items and offers to show them to anyone who shows interest in purchasing them; however no one has taken her up on it.

I keep telling her that no one cares how much we paid for something; they just want to know how little they are going to pay. She tells me it’s a woman thing and that I wouldn’t understand. All of the women I ask tell me it’s a Jasmine thing. That I can understand.

Nevertheless, we are selling quite a bit of stuff and finding good use for the things that we can’t sell. Only our dining set, washer/dryer, wicker chairs, and teak TV cabinet remain as the larger items to sell. Altogether, we paid $4,761 for the lot of them. At the current asking price, she’d like $3,325. I’d be content with far less just to be rid of them. But I’ve never been known to be one who gets very attached to material goods.

However, I still have a few piles of nostalgia in my office that I’ve managed to store up for myself over the last few years. Newspaper clippings for shows that I’ve been in. Original writings from the first draft of The Rucksack Letters. Stuff from college that I just can’t seem to let go of. High school yearbooks. Two decade’s worth of name tags from an assortment of different jobs. It’s really amazing all of the stuff that I’ve held on to.

Part of me thinks that some of it will one day have some monetary value, like the typewritten Rucksack manuscripts or the original screenplays. Part of me just likes to revel in my ego. Since I accidentally smashed our fire pit a few months ago, I’m going to have a ceremonial shredding of all of the crap I’ve held on to as I move on to this new life.

Fortunately, we were able to move in to the Lighthouse early. Life without a sofa is kind of hard and neither Jasmine nor I deal very well with being in flux.

We signed the papers last night at six and started moving some of the essentials in. Jasmine and I have very different definitions of what an essential is so we didn’t actually stop moving until almost ten. I of course slept like a rock. Jasmine had a little bit of a harder time. Since the house is right on Osprey, traffic on the road is a little heavier than our last house, and it is much nearer to Fruitville which offers four lanes of bad Florida drivers. The way the house is constructed, it is sort of in the shape of a megaphone so any noise I make downstairs when I get up in the morning, she hears in the bedroom as if I were right next to her.

The main structure is octoganal with three stories. The first two floors have a rectangular extention off of the back, due west. On the first floor, we usually enter through the back since the owners prefer we not open the front door to keep a low profile. We are, after all, living in a historical landmark. The back door opens into a galley kitchen which takes you into the living room. It also contains the refrigerator and a small folding table attached to the wall. A staircase which some would actually call a ladder runs up the north wall to the second floor.

The bedroom on the second floor is a little bit smaller than the living room due to the inward pitch of the walls. Still, it fits a full bed, has a small closet, and now contains a wardrobe that Dad and I remarkably maneuvered up the stairs this morning. Jasmine said the bathroom reminds her of a cruise ship, with a tiny sink, small window, and sliding glass doors on the shower.

The room on the third floor is even smaller than the bedroom. It’s pretty empty now, but one day soon, we’ll be getting a desk up there. However both of us are on laptops now, so I do the majority of my work on the couch. Still, though Jasmine and I are pretty comfortable with the 550 square feet of tight quarters, we know that there will be those occasions where we’ll need our own space. When that happens, I can banish her to the tower.

The animals seem to be taking to the new digs quite well. Our dog Gizmo still goes pretty rigid when we carry him up and down there stairs, but he’s loosening up. And our cat Misty, though she cried all morning, has really taken to the steps and is treating the entire structure as her own personal playground.

All in all, it’s a pretty good beginning to what should be an interesting year. Jasmine and I enter our third year of marriage next month. There were a few times we thought we wouldn’t make it, but we’ve managed to pull through so we’re in it for the long haul now. We pretty excited about the prospect of going to France next year and are taking a closer look at our online businesses in hopes of making them work well enough for us to allow us the opportunity without having to slum it over there too much. There will be plenty more about that later.

One thought on “Life in the Lighthouse

  1. I’m not completely siding with Jasmine, but I like to think that in downsizing and decluttering, you rid yourself of everything you don’t find useful or love, as William Morris once said. Some items are just too lovely to part with.

Leave a Reply

