Happy New Year

There was a day

There was a year

when I felt like I was the man I could be

when I felt like I was reaching the potential that was laid out for me

in the celestial sphere of possibilities

as the gods gathered in the maproom

and set up the model

for the way that life would be

and clued in my parents

on how to not screw things up too much.

Unfortunately, the lesson only survived a generation.

But screwing up is better than screwing down

for it gives you something on which to climb

instead of a thing to remain immobile.

I don’t want to remain immobile.

I want to climb and swing and dance the hoochie coo among the stars.

I want to build a tower to the sun and let it fall down

so that I can build it again better.

As long as I am reaching for the sun

stretching toward that radiance that glows in the moment of joy

the source of the sunbeam that powers the planet

and the intensity that comes

from burning up the missteps

and the stronger steps that rise from the ashes.

So that I may smile at a new year

by smiling at a new day

and simply be the man that burns.

Steve McAllister is the author of The Rucksack Letters and How to Survive an Estralarian Mind Meld. He posts regularly at InkenSoul.com, and sometimes posts at Anything Arts, Sarasota Music Scene, and Elephant Journal, and is currently the Director of Operational Development for the Common Wealth Time Bank in Sarasota, Florida. Follow him on Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube.

Leave a Reply

