America Broke My Heart

I´m having an issue with a lot of this talk about “taking back our country.” Depending on where you stand, it seems that we either need to take our country back from the godless heathens or the religious right, the liberals or the conservatives, the idiots on Capitol Hill or the Illuminati we’ll never see. There appears to be a contingent of people across social strata that believe that somehow or another, someone has taken something from us. My question is, was it ever really ours to begin with?

Our forefathers created a framework of ideas that we were given to create something new with.

But basically, they just gave us a set of ideas that they thought would be the best way to create a sustainable culture of life, liberty, and happiness shortly after having murdered a bunch of natives, stolen their land, and started a war with the folks that funded their trip. I don’t mean to sound unpatriotic, but I’m not necessarily sure that I want it back.

I still love a lot of the ideas in their little festival of human redemption, but I’m just not sure if those fellas were in the optimal state of consciousness to design the country to beat all countries. Nor do I share any remarkable reverence for Amerigo Vespucci. Other than the fact that he figured out that South America was bigger than they thought it was, and the first European to find the mouth of the Amazon River, he was pretty much a glorified sailing instructor for King Such and Such.

No offense to the guy, but for someone who´s gonna have two continents and the most powerful country in the world named after him, I expect a little something more.

The United States of America is an idea. For many it is a beautiful idea. For many it conjures fear. Over the last 237 years, the idea has been filtered through minds of many people and become more complex as some minds have built upon it, some have crafted it to their own purposes, and some have tried to tear it asunder.

The problem with complexity is that it brings a greater possibility for something to go wrong and have the whole thing crumble. This is the logical problem for a one world government or the continued surge of consumer globalization. Realizing our capacity to currently communicate globally, the logical solution is to focus our energies on efforts of sustainability and resilience in our local communities, sharing information and successes with the global community.

The simple solution to our worldwide epidemic is to realize the power we have to effect our neighbors, our neighborhoods, our families, and our friends. I am no enemy of the state. It will falter of its own accord. But I will not be its ally, and will not catch it when it falls. However, I am here for my people, my city, my county, and for whatever region I can be effective, helpful, inspiring, and appreciated.

It breaks my heart to let her go. I´m not sure if I was told I was an American before or after I was told I was a Christian, but the relationship has been long, and for the most part, loving. However, I´m really not into domestic violence any more than I´m into foreign violence, and now that she´s spending the greater part of her budget on guns and ammo, it´s kinda freaking me out. I will not be in an abusive relationship.

While I appreciate the tradition of arranged marriages, considering that the American divorce rate is roughly what it spends on battles of a more military sort, I had to make the break. It just doesn´t work sometimes. And as long as she´s gonna be such a freaking addict to everything she possibly can, I really have no interest in taking her back.

Steve McAllister is the author of The Rucksack Letters and How to Survive an Estralarian Mind Meld. He posts regularly at InkenSoul.com, is sometimes posts at Anything Arts, Sarasota Music Scene, and Elephant Journal, and is currently the Director of Operational Development for the Common Wealth Time Bank in Sarasota, Florida. Follow him on Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube.

 

Leave a Reply

